DIY Pottery Barn Inspired Easel

Hey there,

So I have been finishing up some projects that were started when I was going to do a vintage show.  I was going to take our rustic pieces and our rustic home decor items. I just ran out of time so I cancelled my spot in the show. I stared getting behind on my custom orders and I had to catch up.  Working and having 2 kids makes life already very full! Mike and I are super busy these days.

This was a project I was super excited about. I actually just about build this all by myself! I cut all the wood and sanded everything. I stained it in 2 colors and put it together. Its a simple wood project but can make such a cute addition to your room.

Here’s the plans. Building and creating projects from wood is so gratifying! I love that Mike is able to teach me and I have learned so much in a short period of time. I already have plans of making sure Kaylie and Owen will learn this craft from their dad.

The only modification we made on this build was to add an extra support in the back where the hinges attach. We were not comfortable with the amount of room we had when trying to attach them, so we added a furring strip 12.5 in long to the back. Also, adding this piece gives you a little more leeway when putting the easel together.

DIY easel modification from ana white

we added a 1x2in furring strip 12.5in across the back

So there you have it! You can see the full step by step tutorial on Ana White’s blog. I didn’t take pictures while creating this because I was busy working:) Usually I am the helper and the camera crew!

Diy rustic easel

Diy easel display easel

Heres my photo shoot with the easel. You could add family pictures, your kids artwork or holiday cards..whatever you want! You could paint this white and distress it to make it look old and shabby chic. Or you could paint it a really fun color and place it in your childs room for all the pictures they draw you:)

art work display easel rustic Diy easel picture display easel home decor easel

 

Hope you love this as much as I do! Thanks for stopping in.

Show you care and share.

Jeanette Marie

We are linked up!
Check out all the cool and inspiring ideas people are sharing over there!
Classy Clutter

Leave a Reply

